Make Your Dreams Happen

Make Your Dreams Happen sketch

 

Some days, making dreams happen is like a painting. You start out with the general idea and kind of let yourself go, finding something entirely different than the vision you began with. Something amazing and resolutely YOU.

Other days, it’s like following a treasure map you’re not sure was meant for you. Those days when nothing goes right and the criticisms and struggles seem so much louder. You fear you’ll end up being Chester Copperpot instead of a real Goonie.

When my girls want to give up because they lost a game, I tell them that a winner is just a loser who tried once more. But dreams aren’t about winning, they’re about not losing. They’re about making the best part of you real and sharing it with the world. And never giving up nor putting others down. Even when you can’t see the route as clearly as you would like, if at all.

My daughters have dreams bigger than the sky:

“I’m going to be the first girl who plays Major League Baseball, own a café, have a school for smart kids, and be an author!”

“I’m going to be an artist and an art teacher and write books and live in New York City!”

“I’m going to be a doctor and an author and a baker and a teacher!”

“I’m going to be a tooth fairy!”

Can you see why I adore these kids? They are such little inspirations in themselves, the heart that keeps me going during the roughest times. I don’t know what I would do without them.

And so, we make our dreams happen together. Following the treasure map without knowing where it will lead us. Instead of winning, we do our best to not lose our way and see where it takes us.

 

😉 Julie

Leave a comment

February 23, 2016 · 1:43 am

Leave a Reply

